By London Falcons press officer David Groves
London Falcons 4 London Titans 1
GFSN • Sunday, 9th September, 2007 • Old Deer Park

LONDON Falcons made history in the GFSN League in superb style, beating arch capital rivals Titans in their first ever national league match which was hastily rescheduled for Old Deer Park, Richmond on Sunday, September 9.

The deadlock was broken after only three minutes when man of the match Dan Walton's superb long ball from defence released leading scorer James Edeki who fired home at the near post past helpless goalkeeper Phil Brearly.

High-flying Falcons were then unlucky not to add to their lead on 15 minutes when Edeki found new captain Ian Kehoe who saw his 25 yard shot rebound to safety via the crossbar.
But in the same minute new player-coach Chris Maughan obliged with the second goal of the game from 30 yards, a superb strike which left Brearly clutching at thin air once again.
Falcons then entered dreamland on 32 minutes when Maughan capped a splendid debut by flighting a deep free-kick which was helped on by Lewis Marshall for former captain Tom Price to fire home at the far post.

The onslaught continued after the break when Falcons made it 4-0 after 57 minutes when impressive centre-back Rob Hyde showed superb opportunism to fire home at the near post past Brearly.

Manager Craig Randall immediately demanded a clean sheet from his rampant players against his former club only for Falcons, who have only been in business for just more than a year, to concede on 76 minues when Luke Tuffs was allowed to head home at the far post following Richard Cowell's free-kick from the right.

Three minutes later Falcons survived a scare when new skipper Kehoe appeared harshly adjudged to have fouled Tom Andrews in the penalty area but Matthew Baker put the spot-kick over the bar beyond a relieved and very under worked keeper Aaron Jameson.
Falcons finished strongly and were able to celebrate in style back at the Richmond Arms pub afterwards with Walton receiving two mom bottles of champagne and prolific striker Edeki also sharing another such award.

London Falcons: Aaron Jameson, Jamie Okaro, Tom Schueurch, Dan Walton, Rob Hyde, Kieran Evans (Alex Bryce 45), Chris Maughan, Tom Price, Ian Kehoe (capt), James Edeki, Lewis Marshall (Arthur D 70). Unused subs: Kevin Latham, Andy Grace, Tony Carpenter.

London Titans: Phil Brearly, Ed Connell (Darren Eden 45), Paul Wheeler, Tony Kerr, Tom Andrews, Neil Double (Chris Ong 75), Luke Tuffs, Richard Cowell, Matthew Baker, Austin Chessell, Richard Nixon (Paul Coad 80).

images by James Dyke